Skip to content

What I meant on Tweetie

September 28, 2009

Obviously I pissed off some people when I said charging for tweetie 2 was an FU to the users who already bought the app. I stand by that statement, but should expand it beyond the 140 characters twitter allows.

When I said charging for the app, I probably should have stated it differently. I don’t mind paying a reduced price for the upgrade (namely if the app is so new and is as good as people claim it is), I do mind paying the full price.

Why? Well for one, my buying of the app and recommending it to others supported the developer. If no one had bought tweetie 1 there would be no tweetie 2. Developers tend to think “Hey I developed the app, so you should pay me”, but I think they too often ignore the contributions their current users have given to them. I’m not against developers who remember the users, I’m against developers who ignore them.

And yes it’s only three dollars, and I spent more on food today than that, but it’s not the money it’s the principle. I can’t code (I graduated college with a liberal arts degree), so you’re right I don’t know all the details that go into coding an app, but I understand that as with anything it takes time and energy. Should you be rewarded for the excellent work? Of course, but shouldn’t we be thanked for our support and encouragement? Apparently not.

No comments yet

Leave a comment